Ireland held a general election on 8 February, just one week after neighboring Britain’s departure from the European Union. Based on the latest figures available on Monday morning, the country’s election count has failed to produce a clear winner. Sinn Fein, the left-wing Irish nationalist party, has won the popular vote in a general election.

Ballot counts on Sunday revealed that Sinn Fein received 24.5% of the first preference vote, almost doubling its share from the last election in 2016. The 2016 election ended with no clear winner, and it took 10 weeks of talks to form a new government.

The opposition Fianna Fail party won 22.2%. Incumbent prime inister Leo Varadkar’s governing Fine Gael party won 20.9%. Fine Gael and Fianna Fail are the two parties that have dominated Ireland’s political scene over the past decades.

Διαβάστε ακόμα